Loch Leven Curling Club

Minutes of the Ninth Annual General Meeting – 30th March 2019 at Kinross Curling commenced 14:30

Members Present:

Jonathan Atkinson; Brian Boyes; Kathleen Brown; Sheila Cannon; Brian Cook; Jeanne Dean; Paul Dean; George Haddow; Lesley-Anne Haddow; Maggie Saunderson; Jim Saunderson; Ally Simms; Eileen Thomas; Gareth Thomas

Apologies were received from: Kirsty Cassells; Mike Cheshire; Jane McFarlane; George Ponton; Elaine Spain

Adoption of 2018 Minutes – approved by common consent.

Adoption of 2017 Accounts, for the year to 30th April 2018 – approved by common consent.

Treasurer's Report on current year – Brian Boyes gave a brief report of the current year, as the financial year end does not finish until 30th April. A full copy of the Treasurer's Report is appended to these Minutes.

President's Report

The club started season 2018/2019 with 29 members, including 6 reserves and 3 nonplaying members. This resulted in the club league playing with 5 teams, resulting in 12 LLCC league games per person, for the season.

There were also games against Bishopshire in the Province Bonspiel, Glenfarg Mixed in the Festive Potty, Kinross Ladies in the Blairhill Challenge, and friendlies against Orwell Ladies, KCDC and Fossoway. All of which were won, with George Ponton's rink winning The Potty.

Brian Boyes skipped a team in the KCT League. Having successfully gained demotion to Division 2 for this season, we have successfully ensured continuation in Division 2 for next.

In addition, there was a Christmas Bonspiel & Meal, the annual Points Competition and the End-of-Season Bonspiel, and there will be doubles competition next week.

On our social agenda, Lesley-Anne has organised the Christmas Bonspiel meal and an End of Season Ceilidh and Quiz on 13th April.

LLCC League – was won by Team Simms, made up of Ally Simms, with Mike Cheshire, Brian Cook and Kathleen Brown

LLCC Balsom Trophy – was won by Team Saunderson, made up of : Jim Saunderson, Maggie Saunderson, Robert Walker and Elaine Spain

LLCC Points Competition – was won by George Haddow on a Draw to the Button tiebreaker against Brian Boyes

LLCC Handicap Points Competition - was won by Kirsty Cassells

Presentation of Prizes -

The presentation of prizes was held before the AGM.

Election of Office Bearers -

As required by the constitution, the current committee all stood down, all were willing to be re-elected, and all were re-appointed by common consent. The office bearers for 2018/2019 are:

- Captain : Gareth Thomas
- Social Secretary : Lesley-Anne Haddow
- Match Secretary : Paul Dean
- Treasurer : Brian Boyes
- Secretary : Gareth Thomas
- RCCC Representative: Maggie Saunderson

Subscriptions - no change is proposed in the club membership fees of £20 per person - these will be requested in the next couple of weeks, to allow us to assess the membership requirements and ice booking requirements for next season, which are required May 1.

Ice fees may increase, depending on the number of games planned for 2019/2020 and the ice fees to be paid to Kinross Curling. The ice fees will be requested in August / September 2019.

AOCB

- Loch Leven Province require a new secretary/treasurer as the incumbent Boyd Houston is leaving after many years of sterling service. No volunteers were forthcoming
- It was suggested that the Christmas Bonspiel ice fees be met by proceeds of the forthcoming ceilidh, or general membership/ice fees. This was agreed.
- The issue of club shirts/jackets/uniform was raised. There was no enthusiasm for placing a new order at this time.

Close: The captain thanked everyone for supporting the club, the ice staff for making such good ice in such challenging circumstances this year, and the bar and catering staff for their work again in spite of staff illness, and for the rink for allowing him to play on their computer and television.

The meeting concluded at 14:51